Wow - it's been a while since I have posted something super exciting and interesting about my training. Here's the update - let's see - about 2 weeks ago I skipped my long run because I was just plain lazy. Then I skipped my run the next day (still feeling lazy). By Wednesday I was feeling guilty and fat, so I went to run my 6 miles on the treadmill, but had started developing a cough and that curtailed my efforts on the treadmill after 3 miles. I lifted weights, but felt like I was an 80 year old lady who can't even pick up a can of peas.
This leaves Thursday, and my excuse for not running that day was that we left for the Milwaukee airport at 3 am to fly to Puerto Rico. Friday, Saturday & Sunday were busy days in PR, so of course, no running again! Me, my friend Liz and her brother Jay walked about 4 miles to Old San Juan one day though, and another day we hiked and kayaked, so I think we got enough exercise in. Plus, drinking all of those margaritas in large glasses takes some muscle, so I feel like I burned as many calories as I drank, right? Ok, ok, not so much.
Feeling guilty about my lack of running while trying to train and qualify for Boston, I decided that Monday would be a fresh start. Little did I know I would wake up stuffed up and with a major headache and cough. Poop. No run. Tuesday pounding headache and air pressure on the plane made me feel like someone from "The Hurt Locker" needed to disarm the bomb that was going to explode in my head. No run Tuesday. Wednesday still felt like ass. No run. Thursday getting better, but cough still incessant. No run. Friday still feeling bad, but it's do or die time, so I ran. Goal was 6 miles, managed about 4 and then walked 2 back. Saturday things start picking up - ran 12 miles in 1:50 minutes. Felt good with only a few coughing fits thanks to those deliciously medicinal faux cherry tasting Chloroseptic cough drops! (By the way, they don't go well with watermelon Luna Chews).
I took Sunday off because my right IT band was killing me the last 3 miles of my long run on Saturday. I'm a little worried that this is going to be a new issue with me because every marathon I've ever run I have experienced IT band syndrome. I am being diligent about cross training, icing, foam rolling, and a lot of 1 legged squats and lunges to try to help the situation. I have all of the PT exercises in a binder from the last time I had this problem, so it's time to start the exercises again!).
Even though I'm worried about the IT band, I still ran the 6 I was supposed to today in 51 minutes. Felt good - IT band bothered me a little, but I foam rolled it until I had tears rolling out of my eyes, so hope that helps. Tomorrow is swim/spin day, so it will be good to rest my legs! Now if only I didn't have to get up at 5 am to swim ;(
Runnin' on Pain,
Jaime