Today I was eating well, doing my thing, and then I went too long with without my afternoon snack and totally was nauseous I was so hungry. I felt like I was going to throw up in the cab ride home. Of course the minute I walked in the door I knew I was going to eat the crap out of some food because I was STARVING!!!! So what did I do, I did what a good girl would do and drank my protein shake with my 1 tbsp. of almond butter. But then what happened? I was STILL starving, so I thought, I need some carbs, so I had 1/2 a large apple. No big deal, as I am going to the gym and need some carbs to fuel my workout. Nothing too crazy for my afternoon meal - pretty close to what I usually eat. But then I was STILL hungry so I ate a piece of chicken. OK, I'm going a little overboard, but at least it was clean. Then of course I wasn't really hungry anymore but my cravings were out of control so I ate a couple more spoonfuls of almond butter.
Now, normally I would just keep on bingeing on food because I already messed up my day, but the new Jaime knows that one slip-up isn't going to wreck my entire goal of doing the figure competition in 14 weeks - plenty of time, and slip-ups happen. Plus, a few hundred extra calories on 1 day isn't gonna make a huge difference unless I start doing it every day. So, I put the jar away, made myself a 10 calorie hot cocoa to curb my sugar craving, and called/texted some friends to help me get on track. Now I'm putting on my gym clothes and am going to go lift back/biceps like I planned, and do my 30 minutes of cardio afterwards. Then I'm going to have a nice piece of fish & some veggies for dinner, and if I need another 10 calorie hot cocoa and feel better that I didn't get derailed over 1 little binge attack.
I am also going to reassess my calories I've been eating, because I think they may be too low. I also think I will plan a little better and make sure I have my afternoon mini-meal with me because even though I knew I would be home later, I went 3.5 hours between meals which caused me to go into starvation mode and want to eat everything in sight. I'm proud of myself for not letting this 1 time of being out of control ruin the rest of my workout and eating plans for the day. Overall consistency, not perfection, is the key. If we have an all or nothing attitude, we won't succeed because it will never be perfect. Plan ahead, know your weaknesses, and get back up immediately when you fall off.
Peace & Protein,
jai
Thursday, February 7, 2013
Sunday, February 3, 2013
Super Bowl Sunday Strategy
Today is Super Bowl Sunday, a day of gluttony & drinking for most. This year I won't be imbibing in any alcohol or eating any fattening foods. I will be enjoying the game with friends at a bar however. So, I am armed with a plan so I don't cave in and eat something bad or order a vodka soda (having a bad weekend so I really really want a drink, but I won't do it!!!). I've finally started seeing progress in my training/diet so I don't want to lose that momentum.
After 2 weeks of dieting pretty strict, counting every calorie, carb, protein & fat gram, I finally dropped to 21% body fat and lost a few pounds. Part of it I know was water weight but I also cut the carbs down lower, cut out gluten completely, and cut out all dairy except for whey protein powder. This is all helping so I'm going to continue on and see if I continue to lose.
Anyway, back to my Super Bowl Strategy. I am bringing my big LV purse to the bar because I can fit a whole pair of shoes and then an outfit in there it's so big!!! In it I have my protein shaker with a scoop of protein powder. I also have a bag of carrots & celery. I just had a piece of chicken around 3:00 so I'm good for about another hour. Once I get hungry at the bar and everyone else is ordering fried crap, I'll be ordering a piece of plain grilled chicken and salad (no extra fixings on it - just veggies & no dressing, just a lemon wedge to squeeze over it). I'll have that for dinner and if I get hungry later, I'll have my protein shake & bag of carrots/celery. The carrots have some sugar in them, so eventually I'll have to cut them, but right now I'm keeping them in as a good backup plan when I'm running around and get hungry. I'll also be sipping on flat water but also a glass of soda water with lime (no vodka :( so I don't feel left out of the drinking. I find that always makes me feeling a little like I'm drinking for some reason. Probably because I drink vodka soda a lot when I go out.
So, that's my strategy. I already worked out - lifted Back today and followed that with 30 minutes of walk/sprint interval training on the treadmill. I am feeling leaner and my stomach is looking flatter. I am starting to see more definition pop in my shoulders and abs. I have a LONG ways to go but thankfully I still have 15 weeks so I have time to shed this fat layer just in time for summer!!!!
Enjoy your Super Bowl Sunday and try to pick some healthy options like grilled meats instead of fried or a cup of chili & a salad/veggies!!!
Peace & Protein!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)