Sunday, February 3, 2013

Super Bowl Sunday Strategy

Today is Super Bowl Sunday, a day of gluttony & drinking for most.  This year I won't be imbibing in any alcohol or eating any fattening foods.  I will be enjoying the game with friends at a bar however.  So, I am armed with a plan so I don't cave in and eat something bad or order a vodka soda (having a bad weekend so I really really want a drink, but I won't do it!!!).  I've finally started seeing progress in my training/diet so I don't want to lose that momentum.  

After 2 weeks of dieting pretty strict, counting every calorie, carb, protein & fat gram, I finally dropped to 21% body fat and lost a few pounds.  Part of it I know was water weight but I also cut the carbs down lower, cut out gluten completely, and cut out all dairy except for whey protein powder.  This is all helping so I'm going to continue on and see if I continue to lose.  

Anyway, back to my Super Bowl Strategy.  I am bringing my big LV purse to the bar because I can fit a whole pair of shoes and then an outfit in there it's so big!!!  In it I have my protein shaker with a scoop of protein powder.  I also have a bag of carrots & celery.  I just had a piece of chicken around 3:00 so I'm good for about another hour.  Once I get hungry at the bar and everyone else is ordering fried crap, I'll be ordering a piece of plain grilled chicken and salad (no extra fixings on it - just veggies & no dressing, just a lemon wedge to squeeze over it).  I'll have that for dinner and if I get hungry later, I'll have my protein shake & bag of carrots/celery.  The carrots have some sugar in them, so eventually I'll have to cut them, but right now I'm keeping them in as a good backup plan when I'm running around and get hungry.  I'll also be sipping on flat water but also a glass of soda water with lime (no vodka :( so I don't feel left out of the drinking.  I find that always makes me feeling a little like I'm drinking for some reason.  Probably because I drink vodka soda a lot when I go out.

So, that's my strategy.  I already worked out - lifted Back today and followed that with 30 minutes of walk/sprint interval training on the treadmill.  I am feeling leaner and my stomach is looking flatter.  I am starting to see more definition pop in my shoulders and abs.  I have a LONG ways to go but thankfully I still have 15 weeks so I have time to shed this fat layer just in time for summer!!!!  

Enjoy your Super Bowl Sunday and try to pick some healthy options like grilled meats instead of fried or a cup of chili & a salad/veggies!!!  

Peace & Protein!

No comments:

Post a Comment