Sunday, January 31, 2010

Runnin' . . . Runnin'

It's been about a week since I last posted, so I figured I'd give an update. Had an ok running week. Was super cold so had to do some 6 milers on the treadmill, which sucked! I bailed on one workout because my hamstrings were so sore that I couldn't bare to move (lifted weights too much on Monday!)

Yesterday ran 6 outside at a nice easy pace with my friend Liz. It was good to go on a fun run and chat since I am usually alone!

Today I'm going snowboarding for my 2nd time - we'll see how that goes! I bought some butt pads so my tailbone shouldn't hurt so bad this time around.

Not much else going on!

Bye bye!

Jaime

Monday, January 25, 2010

7 Miles = Easy Breezy (beautiful, Cover Girl!)

Had to throw the commercial line in there once I started writing it. If you've seen America's Next Top model enough or if you watch a lot of TV, you have that line in your head all of the time!

Yesterday was rough getting started - woke up very tired as I didn't sleep much Fri or Sat night due to excessive partying (actually, I didn't really party hard, I just stayed out late.) Sunday not feeling like running, so I went back to bed and woke up at 2:30 pm! My body needed the sleep. Then I procrastinated until 4:00 and finally got my winter gear on and ran. I am glad I did. It felt great!

Got the IPod going and was in my groove. Ran an average pace of about 9:11, which was faster than I needed to go for my training, but I was feeling good so figured I might as well run what feels good! The first 3.5 miles were harder than the last - probably because I was waiting for the halfway mark! Once I tured around and headed back, the last 3.5 were easy! Even ran up Monona Terrace steps on my way back.

Today I have to run 5 miles at an 8:00 pace. This is going to be challenging I think because I haven't run that far that fast in a while. I hope I can do it! This is faster than race pace, but I know I need to do some faster runs so by the end of May I'm ready to average 8:23 for 26.2 miles! That's fast - I hope I can get in shape to run that fast! Now I have to decide whether to do the 5 on the treadmill or outside. If I go on the treadmill I know it will hurt more because I really hate the treadmill. However, I know I'll be forced to keep the pace if I'm on the treadmill. If I go outside, I can see myself possibly slowing down if I'm not constantly watching the pace on my watch. Hmmm....what to do. I think treadmill gets me more mentally prepared too because I simply hate it. But, if I hate it too much, I will just lower my speed and think I can't run that fast. Grr.....I guess I'll just see what the outside weather is like.

Well, off to working on my resume/cover letter for Alliant Energy. I really hope I get this job. I need a job because I spend too much money!!!!! And it would be a really great place to work since I already know one of the attorneys, and I know it's a good company. Wish me luck!!!!!

Still Running,

Jaime

Friday, January 22, 2010

I'm Baaaaaaack! (Said in the creepy little girl's voice from Poltergeist)

After taking 2 days off of running (missed 2 workouts) due to lack of sleep and just feeling totally rundown and unmotivated, today I finally got back on track. I purposely did not weigh myself this morning because I knew I wouldn't be happy with myself and all of the junk I've eaten in the last few days. Plus, I drank 1/2 a bottle of wine last night so I was pretty dehydrated and knew my weight would be off.

Anyway, it felt awesome to get back into it! I ran 4 miles on the treadmill at a 9 min pace and felt good, other than getting bored in the last mile and being a little shaky for lack of food. Got off the treadmill, had a Lunabar, then lifted weights for an hour so I feel great!!!!! So much energy!

I also heard that Alliant Energy is hiring an attorney so I am working on my resume to apply for that. Wish me luck! I applied for this same position 2 years ago when I was 1 year short on experience, so now this time around I have 1 year more experience than they are asking for, so I am hoping that will help. The market is bad though, and I know there will be lots of resumes submitted, but I am going to keep plugging away!

In the meantime, I'm working on my standup comic routine. I would let you all read it, but then that would be giving it away, wouldn't it!

Peace & a 2 Drink Minimum,

Jaime

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Bad Day :(

Today I skipped my workout. First one, and I fell really crappy about it. I was really tired this morning when I woke up and just had no energy whatsoever. I know it has to do with the fact that Sun & Mon night I couldn't sleep and then Tues got up at 5 to swim. Swim went bad because I didn't sleep well. Then last night I finally slept well, but had a really crappy dream, which is what I woke up in my head, and that just sucked. Then I was in a bad mood and tired and spent my day feeling sorry for myself on the couch and eating junk food. Well, I didn't really eat anything too junky, but just ate when I wasn't hungry.

So, I just have to chalk today up to a bad day and start fresh tomorrow. First workout I missed isn't gonna hurt my training as long as I get back on track tomorrow. I guess I still could get the workout in and feel better about my day, but I know I won't do that, so instead I'm going to take a hot bath, do my hair and makeup, and go watch the Badgers play basketball. Hopefully tomorrow I wake up to a good day, get a great swim in, go for a nice 6 mile run, maybe do some yoga, etc.

Livin' life from my couch,

Jaime

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Sleepless Nights

The last 2 nights I have not been able to sleep. I went to bed at 10:30 and didn't fall asleep until midnight, then was up again from 1-1:40ish, then I was up again at 3:00ish, and then at 4:00, 4:15, 4:30 and then when my alarm went off at 4:45 to go to my master's swim class. As a result of this restless sleep, I completely lacked energy swimming this morning.

I am guessing the lack of sleep is from the new vitamin/energy supplement I started two days ago. The first day I took them they made me feel jittery. After I checked the bottle, I realized they have caffein in them. I rarely drink caffeine, so I think I will have to go back to the supplements I was using prior to these because not being able to sleep is a problem!

And of course, after I got home from swimming you'd think I could take a nap since I am not working ---- nooooo! I got home and was wide awake and couldn't sit still. I am starting to crash now, so maybe it's time to lay on the couch and see if I can fall asleep. I really need to be applying for more jobs too - no job yet and I am really getting bored! And antsy because I need some money coming in soon!

Sleepless in Madison,

Jaime

Monday, January 18, 2010

Effortless

I am the kind of person who likes to be good at everything immediately, without effort. This is a huge problem to have, as I am not always good at everything instantly. Take for example, golf. I will brag to people that I am good at golf, but really, I am not. I can hit the ball, and sometimes I get lucky and it lands on the green and I then can continue the facade that I am a scratch golfer. However, those who have actually witnessed me golf know the lies I tell about my exceptional swing and spot on putting skills.

Such is the case with snowboarding. Yesterday was my first time out and I was a natural. It came to me so easily. I stood up on my first try, flew down the hill with speed and agility, and of course did a few jumps like a true professional. Yes, I lie. I could not get up on the first try, and in face, still have a hard time getting up unless I inch myself up from my knees. I make myself fall down when I get going too fast, and my tailbone has the bruises to prove it. And I may have jumped, but it was likely to prevent myself from hitting something or someone. I swore a lot, and got frustrated. Thankfully, my boarding coach was very patient with me and took the abuse with a smile while I gave him the finger underneath my mittens and muttered under my breath, "Yes, Captain Obvious, I will stand up with my board parallel to the hill so I don't start sliding down before I'm ready." I should be ready for the half pipe in a few weeks and will be doing somersaults and high jumps where I grab my board in a few months. No problem! Winter Olympics, here I come. (See, maybe I won't make it as a runner, but there is still hope - if not snowboarding, maybe the luge? Not much talent required to run and jump into a sled going 60 mph, right?) Start putting $$ on me now before you miss your chance!

As for my marathon training, I am still on track and doing well. No major repurcussions from yesterday's snowboarding festivities. I was able to run 4 miles in an 8:57 pace and felt great. I didn't even mind being on a treadmill! Now that's progress! Got some upper body weights in as well. Had to put a pillow under my butt for sit-ups because of that pesky bruised tailbone. Calves are a bit tight too, but now that I'm an Olympic athlete they will provide all kinds of free massages, so I'm set.

Stay tuned for more adventures from the twilight zone,

Jaime

ps - tomorrow is 2 weeks to Lost Season 6! The only thing more exciting than this blog! :)

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Beautiful Run

Today was a long run of 6 miles. Not too long yet, but long enough for a girl who is just building her base! I started the run conservatively, but picked up speed in the last 3 miles because I was feeling good. I was definitely in a zone of thinking, which always makes my runs great because then I don't think about the time and it just flies! It was a georgeous run too. I ran along the lake and then turned to run towards the Arboretum. It was somewhat overcast out, but the snow blowing in the wind created a kind of swirling effect that made me feel like I was running in a slowglobe. It was a great run to help me appreciate winter, which is hard to do sometimes!

My pedometer said I was averaging a 7:30 pace, but it's not calibrated to my step, so I have a feeling that is about a minute faster than what I was really averaging. However, if I was running about an 8:30 pace, that's perfect because it's close to the pace I need to average in the marathon to qualify for Boston! Legs felt good on the run, no soreness - probably because I only lifted weights once last week instead of the 3 times a week I usually lift! I might tone the lifting down to 2 times a week and do yoga or pilates on the other day to try to keep my legs from tiring out on my long runs.

I'm going snowboarding later, so I hope my legs hold up! This will be my first time ever on a snowboard, so I am sure I will have a funny post tomorrow recounting the numerous time I fell down and looked like bambi on ice. Tune in tomorrow for some humor! I promise it will be more exciting than reading about my run and how my legs feel!


Running Strong,

Jaime

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Olympian in the Making

Ok, so I'm not going to make it to the Olympics . . . ever . . . but can't a girl dream? I just had an amazing 4.5-5 mile run with an Olympian and her running club - Suzy Favor Hamilton. I had never met her before, and I have to say, she is down to earth and a super spunky and free spirited woman! I chatted with her for at least 20 minutes of the run, and it was so much fun! Since I was the new girl, she made me run through a tunnel of runners and then do a "booty" dance in the middle of a circle. It was hilarious! And halfway through the run she had us all doing booty dances, high knees, and pushups! Yeah, we did pushups on the snowy/icy pavement outside during the middle of a 40 minute run! And we were cruising along at a pretty good pace. Nothing too fast, but I was definitely going faster than I normally run when I'm alone, so the push from the others was just what I needed! Oh, and we also ran a huge hill (well, some sprinted up, but I was a little slower) during the middle of the run. Fun! This should help me get in shape!

Olympian at Heart,

Jaime

ps - there was an awesome woman at the running club whose name I can't remember - I believe she was from Costa Rica or something like that - she told me every morning I should wake up and kiss one shoulder, tell myself I am beautiful, smart, talented and that I love myself, and then kiss the other shoulder and say the same. If you love yourself, others will love you too! I'm going to start doing this whenever I catch myself saying I can't do something or I am not thin enough, smart enough, or whatever negativity has crept into my head. Ladies, you should do it too!

Victory on all Fronts

Went to court today for a case I picked up on a contract basis. Got the case dismissed on my first time back to court in 6 months! (I could tell, as my suit pants were pretty tight in the waist and had to unbutton them for the 1.5 hour drive!) It was a great feeling (not having my pants too tight, but winning in court :), even though it was just small claims and I knew it was going to be dismissed because the complaint was procedurally flawed in numerous ways. That said, I won't rain on my own parade of victory!!!! Drove back from Elhorn following the directions on my new GPS - my new little toy that I am loving!

I am also feeling chipper today because I had been a little reluctant into believing I could actually get fast enough to qualify for the Boston marathon, but yesterday I was only 30 seconds under my goal pace for the 4x800s I ran. If I'm only 30 seconds behind, I know I can knock that off in 5 months! I just have to stay on track with the running, and so far it's been good. (On a side note, all of this training is great for my waistline, which was expanding, but is now shrinking - have lost 4 pounds in the last 2 weeks! yeah!) Tonight I get to run 5 miles with Suzy Favor Hamilton's running group here in Madison, so I'm very excited. Should I show up wearing her old shoes???? jk. I do have a pair of her old shoes which she autographed. She wears about a 1/2 size smaller than me, so that would suck doing a 5 mile run in too small of shoes. At some point in time I will run a mile in her shoes though, just to say I did and just because it's so cliche!

Job search going well too - my friend sent me another job in Copenhagen, which would involve regulatory work - they prefer an attorney, but not required, so hopefully that will give me a leg up! Getting closer to Denmark as the days pass. I am loving this newfound job search excitement and am feeling like Denmark might be my calling! I also have an interview for a lit position here in Madison, but not really interested in going back into more of that. Just exploring the option for now, since I'm jobless and could use some dinero!

War & Peace,

Jaime

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Next Stop: Denmark?

Last week I concocted the idea that I should find a job in Copenhagen, Denmark. Then suddenly, people are emailing me tons of jobs in Denmark, many for which I actually could have the right experience! Then I learned that I know someone who lives in Copenhagen and got in touch with her and she has emailed me more ideas! This could be the start of something exciting and new, which is always great for me, since I have ADD when it comes to staying in one city for more than a few years. Here's to dreaming and moving!

On a training note, today was my cross training day. Swam for an hour at 5:30 this morning, then took challenging spin class with a lot of short hills followed by short sprints. I was wiped by the end and my legs feel like they are huge clubs that I'm dragging around behind me now. So far I am on track with my training though, other than being a little slow on my sprints, but that will come when I get in shape. At least it's getting warm out so the winter runs aren't as painful.

Recovered from my spin class by making myself a nice vegan muffaletta sandwich from Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. First recipe I've made out of the cookbook and it was awesome! Tonight I'm making Thai Coconut Halibut with spinach and brown rice for a "date." Hope he likes it!

Dreams of Denmark,

Jaime


Monday, January 11, 2010

Cool Runnings

Well folks, I finally ventured out and ran outside. Sunday got my 5 miler in around noon with temps hovering at about 8 degrees (with windchill, it was probably below 0). Felt good despite the fact that I couldn't feel my ass after about half of the run! Thankfully my friend Liz came along for the run so I had company to get me through.

Today ran 4 miles out in the cold. Was cruising along at a pretty good clip, but my legs felt pretty heavy in the layers of pants I was wearing. Also, legs were pretty numb again, and the snow was pretty thick in some areas, so it was like running in sand. I would much rather be running along a sandy beach than a snowy road, but I guess I'm stuck here for now so might as well not complain!

Decided to skip lifting weights today since my legs are already tired and tomorrow morning I'll get a good arm workout swimming.

That's all I have for today.

Zero Degrees and Freezing,

Jaime

Friday, January 8, 2010

Taking a Water Break

Some people might think I'm crazy trying to run fast, let alone just run. They ask, why not just walk, or take a step class? I sometimes wonder why I continue to run, and when I stop and think about it, there is no one reason, but a myriad of them, none of which make any sense but make all the sense in the world. The real reason I run is because it's what I know. I've been running since 8th grade. I ran track and cross country all through high school and in college. I was always fast and won medals, but never quite made it to state in high school, and in college never won any awards.

I have quit on occassion and missed it severely. For example, when I had surgery on my shins during my 2nd year of colllege and put on over 20 pounds and struggled to run again, I promised God to let me run fast again and I would never take running for granted again. Of course, I have taken the ability to run for granted many times, but whenever I start getting back in shape, I remember it's draw.

For me, the draw is simple, it's my water break from the world. It's a break from the hussle and flow of work, obligations, endless errands, bills and craziness. But sometimes the running gets to be a task, and I back off and do other things because if it's not fun, you shouldn't do it. Don't run just to run. Run for a reason. Run for the love of it and to think. I do do my best thinking while running. Today while I ran 4 miles on the treadmill and hated every moment of it, I thought about my former co-worker who lost her son yesterday, I thought about my career and where I'm going with my life, I thought about my appreciation for the ability to run and my friend who lost the ability to walk in an accident and then miraculously regained it through struggle over the last few years. I sang to Dave Matthews' "Ants Marching" and laughed at the absurdity of our regimented lives.

So this weekend, I invite everyone to take a water break from life and do something you love - see a movie, watch football with friends, take yoga, go for a run, play with your kids, and just appreciate it all. I'm not always good at that, but I try to remember to make a conscious effort for self improvement and compassion. Listen more, talk less. Eat more good foods, eat less junk. Give more, buy less.

Love From the Water Cooler,

Jaime

PS - if you are wondering about my ABCD's, here is a quick breakdown:

A - Achieving what I want slowly:
B - ran 4 miles @ 9 min pace on treadmill once again bc too icy outside. Ugh! I can't stand the treadmill! Listened to DMB and watched Samantha Brown's Passport to Europe which helped.
C - Speaking of Samantha Brown, how do I get her job? I'd love to be a travel writer/host. I have been looking at international jobs for Americans that are anywhere from 6 months to a more permanent position. I have a special interest in Denmark, but would love to live anywhere in Europe. Anyone have any suggestions for doing this? I don't want to practice law, but could possibly use my law degree to get some really fun job!
D - Duh - Dating? Yeah, I'm doing that.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

3:40 = 8:23 pace

Started my training Monday. 4th day in and so far so good. Since I am a few days behind, here's what I've done:

Monday - Ran 3 miles @ 9 min pace on treadmill. Felt good, hate the treadmill, makes me want to quit in the first minute, but I suffer through. Headphones are a must. I recommend a slight incline of 1-2 also, because otherwise it's too much pounding on your legs. After the run I lifted weights (did 6 full body exercises @ 3 sets each exercise).

Tuesday - 5 am - 1st day back at Masters Swimming. I was really slow, but just using this as circuit training, so it was good. Swam for just over an hour. Then at Noon I took a spin class. I thought I would be tired, but surprisingly felt good other than the fact that my quads were on fire for most of the ride.

Wednesday - Was supposed to run 3x800 @ 7 min pace. I am just building my base, so realized that 7 min pace was much too fast for me to do 3 800 meters in, so I ended up doing 3x400 meters at 7 min pace. Even that was really challenging. I'm a long ways from my college days when I could go out and run a mile in 5:38!!!! Next time I think I'll do the 800s, but just do them at an 8 min pace because it's better to build up endurance speed than short bursts for a marathon. I have to be able to maintain an 8:23 pace to qualify for Boston, which is pretty fast. I lifted weights again (6 full body exercises x 3 sets each)

Thursday - This morning I did my 1 hour swim at 5 am. Whew - do I hate getting up that early! Great way to start the day though! I just finished my run for the day. Schedule had me doing 4 miles at a 9 min pace. Since we are getting dumped with snow in the midwest, I did my run on the treadmill again, which still sucks. I felt fine other than hating the boredom of the treadmill. I got through the run by listening to Ashley Simpson on my IPod. make fun of my artist choice, but anything really cheasy and poppy I've found to be the best music to run to because it makes me want to sing along, and since no one was in the gym at my apartment, I did sing out loud! I gave the maintenance guy a good laugh when he came to wash the window on the door opening into the gym!

I'm off to a great start! Not very fast yet, but all in due time! Now I just have to work on some job applications for the day! I think I will look at sales jobs today. And I need to call about a litigation position that I am likely not taking as it would put me back in a stressed out, control freak, hyperventilating state. Not good.

Peace & A Fireplace to Keep you Warm!

Jaime

Learning my ABCD's

Today is the first day of my new blog. So, I thought it would be appropriate to tell everyone the goals I have as they are the reasons I decided to start this blog. I have broken them down into what I'm going to call "My ABCD's".

A - Achievement. In order to achieve the goals I have set for myself, and I realize I need to focus on what I really want to achieve. I usually have so many goals that I never focus on one at any particular time, which is always my downfall. I need to pick a few goals and focus on them. This blog is my attempt to narrow those goals down.

B - Boston. This year, I want to train for a marathon (specifically, the Madison, WI Marathon) to try to qualify for the 2011 Boston Marathon. This will be my 3rd marathon, and the first time I have taken training seriuosly. Usually, I start out with good intentions, but then end up falling off the wagon and hardly training, then going and winging it! I finish, but it never feels good, and I know I can achieve more, so this year is the year for me to get real with myself and push myself to greatness. People, keep me in check with my training please! If I start skipping workouts, put me in my place!

C - Career. In August of 2009 I took the step of finally leaving my 6 1/2 year career as a commercial litigator to figure out what I would rather do. I realize I cannot handle the stress of dealing with opposing counsel yelling at me, and negotiating for things I don't care all that much about. The problem I have right now is that I have so many interests that I cannot focus on looking for a job in one area, which has hampered my efforts in finding a great career. Perhaps I should see a career counselor. Or maybe I need to findally just make a decision! I have such a hard time making decisions! Seriously, I can't even pick what I want to eat on a restaurant menu! For example, here are my interests for my next career - chef, wine sales/distribution, wine production/sommelier, lobbying, politics, going back to get my PhD in English and becoming a professor, law professor (applied for a job that I didn't get :(, Westlaw/LexisNexis rep, business development for a law firm/corporation, TV host. Whew - the list could go on. Clearly, some of these are unrealistic options, but I'm just giving you an idea of the way my mind works. I want to be Kelly Ripa for about 3 weeks and then I want to be chef for a month, then a veterinarian, then well, I better just go back into commercial lit because I'm running out of money!!!!! HELP PLEASE! I need some work on this goal for sure, and don't have a lot of time to figure it out, so this is a top priority for me. Figure it out, girl!

D - Dating. Ah, the elusive dating scene. Is there even a dating scene in Madison, Wisconsin? If there is, I'm clearly missing it! I have dated, and am currently dating, but still am not quite sure what I want. Part of that hinges on the fact that I don't have "C" above figured out. Until I find a career path and know if I am even staying in Madison (hopefully not, as even though I love Madison, I would like to live in a larger city, so maybe I'll end up back in Chicago, or maybe somewhere else). So, I usually keep my options open with dating. I am also super picky. Must have the correct look that I find attractive, must be funny, must not be overly funny in an "I am covering up a bad personality by being distractingly funny" sort of way. Must be fairly fit, must like to have fun, meaning, like to drink, but not drink too much. Must be educated, but in what, I guess I don't care. Must like to travel, must have interesting conversation about more than just what supplements you take to build your muscles. Must dress well (and I don't mean doc marten sandles and shorts, guys!!!!! No Abercrombie or American Eagle - you aren't still in high school, are you???) See what I mean????? I am very very picky! This is my final goal - be less picky, give people I'm seeing more of a chance, but don't settle simply because I'm nearing 32.

Peace & Peas,

Jaime