Monday, January 18, 2010

Effortless

I am the kind of person who likes to be good at everything immediately, without effort. This is a huge problem to have, as I am not always good at everything instantly. Take for example, golf. I will brag to people that I am good at golf, but really, I am not. I can hit the ball, and sometimes I get lucky and it lands on the green and I then can continue the facade that I am a scratch golfer. However, those who have actually witnessed me golf know the lies I tell about my exceptional swing and spot on putting skills.

Such is the case with snowboarding. Yesterday was my first time out and I was a natural. It came to me so easily. I stood up on my first try, flew down the hill with speed and agility, and of course did a few jumps like a true professional. Yes, I lie. I could not get up on the first try, and in face, still have a hard time getting up unless I inch myself up from my knees. I make myself fall down when I get going too fast, and my tailbone has the bruises to prove it. And I may have jumped, but it was likely to prevent myself from hitting something or someone. I swore a lot, and got frustrated. Thankfully, my boarding coach was very patient with me and took the abuse with a smile while I gave him the finger underneath my mittens and muttered under my breath, "Yes, Captain Obvious, I will stand up with my board parallel to the hill so I don't start sliding down before I'm ready." I should be ready for the half pipe in a few weeks and will be doing somersaults and high jumps where I grab my board in a few months. No problem! Winter Olympics, here I come. (See, maybe I won't make it as a runner, but there is still hope - if not snowboarding, maybe the luge? Not much talent required to run and jump into a sled going 60 mph, right?) Start putting $$ on me now before you miss your chance!

As for my marathon training, I am still on track and doing well. No major repurcussions from yesterday's snowboarding festivities. I was able to run 4 miles in an 8:57 pace and felt great. I didn't even mind being on a treadmill! Now that's progress! Got some upper body weights in as well. Had to put a pillow under my butt for sit-ups because of that pesky bruised tailbone. Calves are a bit tight too, but now that I'm an Olympic athlete they will provide all kinds of free massages, so I'm set.

Stay tuned for more adventures from the twilight zone,

Jaime

ps - tomorrow is 2 weeks to Lost Season 6! The only thing more exciting than this blog! :)

No comments:

Post a Comment