Thursday, January 7, 2010

3:40 = 8:23 pace

Started my training Monday. 4th day in and so far so good. Since I am a few days behind, here's what I've done:

Monday - Ran 3 miles @ 9 min pace on treadmill. Felt good, hate the treadmill, makes me want to quit in the first minute, but I suffer through. Headphones are a must. I recommend a slight incline of 1-2 also, because otherwise it's too much pounding on your legs. After the run I lifted weights (did 6 full body exercises @ 3 sets each exercise).

Tuesday - 5 am - 1st day back at Masters Swimming. I was really slow, but just using this as circuit training, so it was good. Swam for just over an hour. Then at Noon I took a spin class. I thought I would be tired, but surprisingly felt good other than the fact that my quads were on fire for most of the ride.

Wednesday - Was supposed to run 3x800 @ 7 min pace. I am just building my base, so realized that 7 min pace was much too fast for me to do 3 800 meters in, so I ended up doing 3x400 meters at 7 min pace. Even that was really challenging. I'm a long ways from my college days when I could go out and run a mile in 5:38!!!! Next time I think I'll do the 800s, but just do them at an 8 min pace because it's better to build up endurance speed than short bursts for a marathon. I have to be able to maintain an 8:23 pace to qualify for Boston, which is pretty fast. I lifted weights again (6 full body exercises x 3 sets each)

Thursday - This morning I did my 1 hour swim at 5 am. Whew - do I hate getting up that early! Great way to start the day though! I just finished my run for the day. Schedule had me doing 4 miles at a 9 min pace. Since we are getting dumped with snow in the midwest, I did my run on the treadmill again, which still sucks. I felt fine other than hating the boredom of the treadmill. I got through the run by listening to Ashley Simpson on my IPod. make fun of my artist choice, but anything really cheasy and poppy I've found to be the best music to run to because it makes me want to sing along, and since no one was in the gym at my apartment, I did sing out loud! I gave the maintenance guy a good laugh when he came to wash the window on the door opening into the gym!

I'm off to a great start! Not very fast yet, but all in due time! Now I just have to work on some job applications for the day! I think I will look at sales jobs today. And I need to call about a litigation position that I am likely not taking as it would put me back in a stressed out, control freak, hyperventilating state. Not good.

Peace & A Fireplace to Keep you Warm!

Jaime

No comments:

Post a Comment